Meme: Passion Quilt

I’ve been reading and enjoying many responses to the Meme Passion Quilt, started by Miguel Gulhin, this week. I never expected to be tagged but I was! I feel honored and I thank Liz B Davis for the tag. I’ve been a kindergarten, first or second grade teacher for over 20 years and one thing I have been passionate about all these years is getting children to love reading. I strongly believe that teachers need to foster this love by; reading great books to children, teaching them to read with interesting books, filling the classroom with quality literature, giving children time to read, and encouraging them read at home. If we can get our children passionate about reading in the primary grades and then continue to fan that passion we’ll have life long readers and learners. Now that I’ve moved to the computer lab I try to connect what we’re doing to books as much as possible.

Finding a photo was much harder than I expected. After spending hours browsing flickr and not finding what I wanted I turned to an old photo of my children. They are now 15 and 19 and both enjoy reading. By using my own photo I had fun playing around with flauntR.

Here are the rules:

  1. Think about what you are passionate about teaching your students.
  2. Post a picture from a source like FlickrCC or Flickr Creative Commons or make/take your own that captures what YOU are most passionate about for kids to learn about…and give your picture a short title.
  3. Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt” and link back to this blog entry.
  4. Include links to 5 folks in your professional learning network or whom you follow on Twitter/Pownce.

I now tag the following 5 people: Murch, Frank, Frieda, John, and Keamac.

4 Responses

  1. […] Nedra for tagging me to participate in the meme passion […]

  2. Nedra, thanks for tagging me for the Passion Quilt. I have been thinking about this for a couple of days now and it’s been a fun challenge to go through photos to try find one that fits.

    I would agree with your idea about teaching the love of reading…it’s so important and transposes over every area of our lives and the students. Keep up the great work.

  3. I love your image. There is not a more perfect gift we can give our children! Love the blog, and keep spreading the passion!

  4. Hi Nedra,

    Lovely image to share – my own children are still at that age when we can read a story together before bed. It’s one thing I’ll miss about them growing up! I found your blog through a comment you made on a student blog (Flick’s) and murcho’s. Thank you for taking the time to comment – they get so much encouragement from having other students and teachers reading their work!

Leave a Reply

