31 Day Comment Challenge

I saw a Tweet for the 31 Day Comment Challenge. So, I headed over to Kim Confino’s site and read about it and decided I would participate. Yesterday I went to two sites and left comments. Today I found out there are some suggestions/rules for the challenge. For a change I’m ahead of the game. One I did yesterday was on a site I had never commented on before and I disagreed with what the person said-I think that’s an upcoming activity. So, now I’ll back track and do yesterday’s activity and answer the self audit questions.

  • How often do you comment on other blogs during a typical week?-Less than once a week.
  • Do you track your blog comments? How? What do you do with your tracking?-I keep track of comments on my own blog and try hard to respond now that I know that’s a good thing to do. About a week ago I signed up for coComment. I use it to see read what other’s have written since I was there and to see if the blogger responded.
  • Do you tend to comment at the same blogs or do you try to comment on at least one new blog per week?-I’m not a regular anywhere.

Then I took a look at Gina Trapani’s Guide to Blog Comments. Since I’m still pretty new to this and haven’t done much commenting I’m doing well with her suggestions. The one thing I need to do is own my comment. I usually sign with open ID and that puts down my web name and I don’t sign my name in my response. So, that’s something I’ll try to remember to do on future posts. I agree that’s important. Sometimes my comments start to get too long or I start to get off topic but usually I catch that and fix it before posting.

I’ve been giving some thought to why I don’t comment more often. One reason is that often what I want to say has already been said, so according to Gina Trapani I’m doing the right thing by not saying it again. Another reason is that I’ve never been much of a writer so when I do a post, even if it’s short, it’s probably taken me quite a long time to put my words down in a way that I like. Hopefully, the more I write the quicker I’ll become at posting a comment.

Ok, now off to read a few posts in my rss feeder, I have over 1000 to choose from, and find one to comment on. Shouldn’t be too hard….

9 Responses

  1. I know exactly what you mean, when you say

    I’ve never been much of a writer so when I do a post, even if it’s short, it’s probably taken me quite a long time to put my words down in a way that I like. Hopefully, the more I write the quicker I’ll become at posting a comment.

    English is my third language and sometimes it does take me a l o o o n g time to write down just a few sentences. I have been blogging for over two years now and I can say, that it does get easier with practice. 🙂 So blog/comment/write on… 🙂

  2. Glad you’ve joined us for the Comment Challenge.

    I’ve also been caught out with the signing my name. With Edublogs blogs it was signing with my username which isn’t good for identity branding and blogspot it was using my old blog account. I haven’t been able to work out how to get Open ID to work so that it uses my name and links to my blog so instead have to manually insert it using anonymous if the blogger allows that option.

    If it’s any comfort writing comments is faster for me than posts (which seem to take forever).

  3. Hi there, I am not sure I agree with Gina about not commenting unless you have something fresh to say. Sometimes I just say a quick ‘hello’ more as an indication of my support or appreciation – it doesn’t add to the conversation but I like the writer to know I have enjoyed their post. cheers Sarah

  4. I too worry about when and how to comment. It can be intimidating to add your voice to someones blog that you respect and admire. You put yourself out there and it might not be answered. It think it just takes time to build up confidence. I think Kim’s idea is a great one.

  5. Thank you all for stopping by and commenting!

    Langwitches, wow, a third language, that is wonderful. If it’s gotten easier for you with three languages then I’m sure it will get easier for me!

    Sue, Thank you for always making me feel welcome to this new world. Yes, posts do take much longer which is why I don’t post too often. Plus now I’ve started the Ning for elementary tech teachers and I feel it’s important that I reply to as many discussions as possible there to help make sure it’s a success.

    Sarah, There are a couple of blogs of other teachers that I’m beginning to try and check on a regular basis. I could see where I might leave a brief hello message just so the person would know I’ve been there checking out the blog. I think it’s important to take those guidelines and adjust them to fit our own personality and style. I’ve also noticed more people “tweeting” nice post lately instead of writing a response. I think that’s acceptable as well ,providing of course that both people are on Twitter.

    Bethany, talk about intimidating. the first time I left a comment and hit the submit button my heart was pounding and I was practically hyperventilating! LOL I did it just before I went to bed and then I couldn’t sleep I was so worried about it. Of course nothing happened and luckily that feeling is gone, except when I disagreed with someone the other night, then that same feeling came back . But that was uneventful as well so I know it will be easier next time.

  6. @Sarah: I agree with you on this one. Sometimes we can leave a comment which doesn’t necessarily add anything new to the conversation other than support for the topic or thoughts being presented.

    It’s always nice to know that there are other people out there that agree with what you are saying.

    Cheers,

    Andrew.

  7. We all know how encouraging it is to get a comment on something we’ve posted – there’s no better motivator to continue writing!

    I have to admit that I think long and hard before I “take up valuable real estate” on someone else’s blog. I want to be supportive but I also want to add value to the original post. Commenting is almost as much work as blogging, but it is really rewarding to become “part” of a conversation.

  8. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  9. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! uvawy and 2108ruxmdnhbdy and 439 : I love your site. 🙂 Love design!!! I just came across your blog and wanted to say that Ive really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

